Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Celebration

6 Comments

 

THE  CELEBRATION

 

 Engrossed in a wild celebration of life,

Laughing and shouting, heads back to drink,

As the bottle is passed from one to another,

Joyous excitement with no time to think.

.

Trees and shrubs and fences flash by,

A group on the corner takes shape and is gone.

Time stops for a moment that feels like a year.

The driver, in shock, cries, “What have I done?”

.

How fast a life changes, in the blink of an eye.

How quickly a spark can be smothered and die.

How often we warn our loved ones, “Take care.”

Not knowing the danger that’s lurking out there.

.

Photo: Author

©DGA 20.05.2010

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

6 thoughts on “The Celebration

  1. Hi there! I hadn’t realised that you were also here… lovely to see you 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks Lyndatjie. Made the move finally yesterday and so glad I did! Lovely to see you and the others too.

    Like

  3. If this poem was taught as a piece of setwork at high schools, there would be chance of a future for many who will die too young.
    Good one.

    Like

    • There are many of us who have been lucky to survive the stupidity of youth, but I agree they do need a wake-up call.

      Like

  4. This should be made compulsory reading at schools and varsities.
    Very well written, Adee.
    xxx

    PS: Consider yourself publicly reprimanded for the heart attack I had when I tried to open your blog page in 24.com. *grin*

    Like

Leave a Reply

