Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Fisherman

8 Comments

The Fisherman

Every day, no matter the weather,
Wind, sun, cold or rain,
The fisherman would make his way
Down the dunes towards the sea.

If the tide was low, he would fish from the rocks,
Getting his bait from the rock pools first,
Then stand in the spray facing the sea
And cast his line beyond the waves.

When the tide was high, he would lie on the beach,
With his bag stuffed under his head,
And the line hooked round his finger to feel
If a fish had taken the bait.

I saw him catch a fish or three
And carry them, thread on a piece of string,
As he passed me by on his way back home
With a smile on his face and a soft greeting.

Photo: http://www.media.photobucket.com
©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

8 thoughts on “The Fisherman

  1. Lovely, beautiful picture with the words, and a really wonderful photo.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed a visit and reading back to the start! Some really vivid word-pictures.

    Like

  3. He is obviously at peace with himself and I envy him that state of mind… Love the pic – it is beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

