Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Invalid

14 Comments


The Invalid

A clear blue sky
Wisped with small white clouds above the ocean.
The sunlight warmed her body
Yet, with the softest breeze straight off the snow,
A reminder of the season.

She shivered then,
Drew her wrap closer around her thin shoulders
And turned her face upwards
Towards the warmth of the sun, closing her eyes
Against its harsh brightness.

Photo: http://www.istockphoto.com/
©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “The Invalid

  1. I really like this one Adee. You brought the contrasts of the season out very well.
    xxx

    Like

  2. Excellent contrasts, I agree with Halfy.

    Like

  3. Just as an aside, I am constantly surprised and delighted when I come across synchronicity (and it happens somehow, somewhere, on a daily basis). I am busy writing a post and earlier this morning, I wrote this:

    And then turn my face to the sun
    and let it draw, upward and away;
    the dewdrops left behind by doubt.

    I thought I’d share 🙂

    Like

  4. Very poignant…I enjoyed it!

    Like

  5. This is delightfully multi-layered. I like the final touch of the sun’s welcome warmth still having a negative quality in the brightness.

    Like

  6. The darkest cloud can have a silver lining that can bring hope. Beautifully written!

    Like

  7. Wonderful way to describe the cold and the warmth she must experience. Have a lovely week Adee!

    Like

  8. Thank you, Rea. Have a great week too! Hope things are going well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

