Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Bank

11 Comments


The Bank

A solemn place of business,
And now an optimistic scene
Chatting vis-à-vis the chances
Of the home team.

The sunshine on their faces
And smiles in their eyes,
Hopefulness and buoyancy,
Was such a joy to see.

The game the night before
Had united them in spirit;
The Rainbow Nation had returned
Revived by the sport.

Picture: http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/2010/05/29/national-pride-weekend-theme-contribution/

Links: The Only Cin and Lyndatjie.

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

11 thoughts on “The Bank

  1. Pingback: FIFA, A JOHANNESBURG MOMENT « The only Cin

  2. Good one adee. Thanks for the pingback, I have reciprocated.

    Like

  3. I love this ….very apt…pity the BRT drivers don’t feel the same way!

    Like

  4. It’s a noisy rainbow tho!!!

    Like

    • Oh yes! I was wondering if a) I had got used to the vuvuzelas, b) they had modified the sound or c) I had gone deaf – but then the other day I was trying to watch one of the matches and the sound was so deafening I couldn’t hear the commentator at all, so I switched off the TV. But let me tell you I believe the Brits in London love the sound and are buying them like crazy!

      Like

  5. Wonderful Adee, and so true of the present time too.
    I wouldn’t mind a muffler for the vuvuzela’s though 🙂
    xx

    Like

  6. Very supportive! Pity things didn’t go too well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

