Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Life Lines

14 Comments


Life Lines

I must confess I was
Quite unconscious of my looks
In my growing years to adulthood;
I was slim, fit and healthy which was fine as it stood.

I woke up one day to see
A stranger reflected back at me.
Who is that, I enquired of myself.
Is it possible – can it be – that old woman is me?

Shock set in and disbelief,
Years of pain have taken their toll,
Years of hardship with small relief,
My face is a map of my journey through life.

We see ourselves with different eyes,
Perhaps it’s not as bad as it seems –
Add some makeup and colour the hair,
Affirm your blessings, and live your dreams.

Photo: Flickr.com

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Life Lines

  1. Just beautiful!

    Like

  2. We only realise we have grown older when we see it in the mirror and then it is too late. Lovely poem Adee. HUGS and have a great week.

    Like

  3. Adee..
    My face is a map of my journey through life.
    is a beautiful line…
    and the poem is a beautiful reflection too

    Like

  4. Eeek… I’ve just caught up on your blog… (been a bit busy with this stupid soccer thing – sorry).
    Now I know why you didn’t post for a while – apologies!!! I feel quite guilty for bugging you for a post… 😦
    I don’t mind the map on my face because I fought long and hard for every single line that is showing. But why oh why does everything have to start sagging? I’m starting to develop jowls…. 😦 😦 😦 😦

    Like

  5. nice. we do change as we age and in many ways i think it is just another kinda beauty, not measured by the smooth tight skin or how well we suck into too small jeans…i think its the wisdom that shines.

    Like

  6. Another good one.

    Those lines are signs of character, and it is up to us whether we mold them into a mask of good humour or of petulant misery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

