Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Bewitched

12 Comments

Bewitched

She sashayed across the room,
Fully aware of the impression she made,
Aware too of the eyes, mostly male,
Swivelling to follow her route.

She joined a group near the fire –
Watching eyes surveyed every move,
Every nuance of her facial expression;
Listening ears hung onto her every word.

A magnet to the men,
They gravitated to where she stood,
Vying for her attention
Like moths around a flame.

Photo: Flickr.com

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

12 thoughts on “Bewitched

  1. Bet you she wore red shoes!
    ;p

    Like

  2. I love this one, Adee.
    Did you not mean to use magnet tho’?
    xx

    Like

  3. i wonder does she enjoy it…or does all the attention abhor her…hmm…

    Like

  4. I wonder if she is thinks men are shallow, or if she can think at all…hmm

    Like

  5. I loved this – the air of mystery behind it.

    Like

  6. This creates a nice vivid picture in the mind. Glad you fixed the magnate; I was wondering if you’d get mad if I drew your attention to it!

    Emboldened, though, I will mention that the second stanza worried me a little. It is actually saying that watching eyes hung onto her every word. Wow, it is really hard to get out of that trap! Maybe:

    She joined a group near the fire –
    Watching eyes surveyed every move,
    Every nuance of her facial expression;
    Listening ears hung onto her every word.
    .

    Like

    • Haha, re ‘magnate’, that is a legitimate spelling error, Col., and I wouldn’t have minded at all. I am a perfectionist in that regard and check and double and even triple check my posts.

      Re the second stanza – you are right too! It worried me and I meant to revise the 3rd line – but then (no excuses) forgot about it! Thank you so much – I’ll follow your suggestion right now.

      Btw, I don’t know how anyone EVER gets used to one-finger typing – especially with a frozen finger!!!

      Like

  7. I’ve already bookmark this article and will definitely refer this article to all my close friends and colleagues. Thanks for posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

