Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Betrayal

12 Comments

Betrayal

You were my friend, I thought,
A true and faithful friend
Who stood by me and held my hand,
Sustaining me, assisting me,
A pillow for my tiredness,
A place to rest my head.

Were you a user in my need
Or an abuser of my trust?
Was it duplicity and perfidy
And I too blind to see?
How could you make a mockery
Of all that I believed?

Photo: Flickr.com

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

12 thoughts on “Betrayal

  1. There’s nothing quite as brutal as the realisation that you’ve been betrayed, I’ve been there.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I think that is the worst type of betrayal 😦

    Like

    • Yes, too deep!

      Long w/end? Hope the knee is getting better. Mine started when we had a gravelled surface to park on at work and I kept twisting my knees slipping on it when getting out of the car!

      Like

  3. ouch, that sounds like something really nasty

    Like

  4. it truly hurts when a friend slides the knife between your ribs..i am torn do you think it better to over trust or over protect?

    Like

  5. I too have been there. It is the kind of hurt one thinks will never go away, but when it does, we are better people for it.

    Like

  6. A friend can stab so much deeper than an enemy. Very good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

