Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Nightmare

10 Comments



The Nightmare

With my heart in my throat
I could hardly breathe
As I peered fearfully
Into the dark shadows.
Shades of grey,
Indistinguishable shapes.

A small cry escaped me.
A hand reached out
To draw me close.
“Hush,” he breathed,
And I smelled his familiarity
As his warmth enveloped me.

Photo: Flickr

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

10 thoughts on “The Nightmare

  1. Well, it ended well 🙂

    Like

  2. i agree, i like the feel of those last three lines…i think you could have ushed the tension up a bit higher to give a great sense of relief…

    Like

  3. Lovely ending, Adee.

    Like

  4. One would hope all nightmares could end thus!

    Like

Leave a Reply

