Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Danger in the Mist

20 Comments

Danger in the Mist

My headlights bounced back at me,
The mist so thick I could not see.
I drove on the highway at walking speed,
Much too slow, or so it seemed.

Leaning forward as far as I could,
Trying to peer through the mist ahead,
Trying to guess how far I’d come,
Was my turnoff further on?

I hoped I had not missed the way,
There were no landmarks that I could see,
Nothing but varying shades of grey
In front or to the sides of me.

At last the markings on the road
Gave way to broken lines. I pulled aside
With such relief I could not hide
The tears that welled up in my eyes.

No sooner had I turned off the road
Than I heard a loud and thunderous sound –
An articulated truck sped by
Which would have been the end of me!

Photo: Photobucket.com

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

20 thoughts on “Danger in the Mist

  1. what a close call,
    you captured the danger of driving in misty very animatedly…
    cheers!
    keep it up!
    😉

    Like

  2. I felt the panic, have been there myself, too many times.
    Well paced poem adee.

    Like

  3. I got goosebumps…so good!

    Like

  4. whew. a near miss…makes you think…and shudder…nice write….

    Like

  5. whew
    thanks for sharing that

    I have been 100 mph in a car with fog so thick you could not see more than a trace of the road .
    Stupid stuff long ago ,my friend showing off, seems like a dream now.

    Like

  6. Eish……scary!!!!……it is so good to be back here…..!!!!

    Like

  7. Scary!!!For sure…….and it is so good to be back!!!!

    Like

  8. Very scary Adee, thank heavens your guardian angel was there.

    Like

  9. This one vividly brings back a recollection of a multiple accident we were involved in at Hilton in heavy mist.

    Like

  10. http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/the-celebrate-poet-of-july-award-nominations-announcement/

    u r nominated,
    please read other poets and vote for 1 to 30 or 1-? poets from the list.
    thank you in advance!
    🙂

    you win one vote for yourself when you vote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

