Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Was he the One

14 Comments

Was he the One

When I was young and innocent
I met a guy who seemed to be
The answer to my dreams,
And now I’m wondering
“Was he the one?”

Looking back it seems to me
All was not as it appeared to be
And I know the truth eluded me
Because I did not want to see
That he was not the one for me.

The years went by and he was gone
And, despite my knowing
He was not the one,
I mourned his passing
Like that of a friend
Whom I loved and pitied in the end.

Now in the dark of night
Alone with the stars and moon
I lift up my face and blow him a kiss
On the breeze, for what was
A dream that we shared
Which failed to thrive in my barren heart.

Picture: pravsworld.com/anvari.org

©DGA 11.09.2010

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Was he the One

  1. What could have been …

    Like

  2. Some things are just not meant to be.
    Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  3. I NEVER wonder what might have been….far too depressing!

    Like

  4. i am glad you can still think of him and send him a kiss on the breeze…and wish him well in life…

    Like

  5. Oh those dreams we always wonder about. Beautiful Adee. xx

    Like

  6. aww…beautiful and sad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

