Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Burning Bridges

16 Comments

heart fire Pictures, Images and Photos

Sidey’s Weekend Challenge – 22.10.2010: Bridges

Burning Bridges

I burnt the bridges to my past,
Finally and forever,
With the fire in my heart.

No what ifs and no upsets,
Ended for eternity,
Ashes to ashes with no regrets.

Image: Photobucket.com

©DGA 23.10.2010

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

16 thoughts on “Burning Bridges

  1. Clever economical expression of such multi-layered meaning – very enjoyable. bb

    Like

  2. Way to go adee 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve read it 3 times and I keep feeling it’s different, like the flickering flames, or maybe I keep putting bits of my past into your words. Great offering, thanks.

    Like

  4. i am glad you have no regrets…some things are better left behind us…

    Like

  5. No use popping back over bridges that don’t lead anywhere but down – might as well burn them. “Ashes to ashes with no regrets.” – love that!

    Like

  6. …foreward ever…the only way!!!!…short and sweet…and not without sweat I think….

    Like

  7. I agree, and onwards we go…I share the same motto and am so aware of exactly that right now in my life!! Always just blessings to you Adee xoxox

    Like

  8. Some bridges do need to be burned! It’s better that way!

    Like

    • AND forgotten at the same time… no harking back any more. What is done is done and we can’t change anything; we must just accept it and get on with our lives; full steam ahead, lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

