Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Who ARE You?

14 Comments

Who ARE You?

the pain
indescribably deep
when
open, honest
kind and considerate
becomes
mean spirited
selfish and devious

my eyes were opened
to the stranger within
when circumstances
challenged and changed
someone I thought I knew
disappointment
distress and regret
pain I will never forget
do we all have a secret self
hidden from the outside world

Image: photobucket.com

©DGA 06.11.2010 11:32

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Who ARE You?

  1. do we all have a secret self
    hidden from the outside world

    It rather looks like it from the number of people I’ve met who were not what I thought (or what they pretended) they were. But I like to think some of us are WYSIWYG. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s very fitting that I read this today, I was shocked to the core by someone yesterday.

    Like

    • One often reads about ‘true colours’ but which are they? I hate being so disillusioned… I would prefer to think it was an uncontrollable ‘flash in the pan’ so to speak.

      Like

  3. i ownder can we ever really know someone, honestly, b/c i think we do harbor secret sides…even if only unintentionally in how we present our ‘best side’

    Like

  4. Most thought-provoking poem, pic and comments – Thank You.

    Like

  5. brilliant – know this sense of shock only too well

    Like

  6. I’ve had that happen and I don’t let people get too close because of it. 😦

    Like

  7. honestly I do think we all have a secret self that can only be shared with the deserving. life is about finding the people we can be ourselves with

    Like

Leave a Reply

