Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

SOLITARY TRAVELLER

13 Comments

moon girl solitary Pictures, Images and Photos

SOLITARY TRAVELLER

I walk my journey in this world,
This life of mine, alone.
I may have friends, but who are they
Inside their skins, inside their heads?
Are we ever more than strangers,
Nodding acquaintances?

I know I guard my inmost feelings,
Afraid to expose my limitations, my flaws,
Lest these strangers be not worthy of my trust.
Yet there are some I feel I have known forever,
In previous lives,
And others I should really know, but do not.

Image: Photobucket.com
©DGA 23.02.2011 15:35

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

13 thoughts on “SOLITARY TRAVELLER

  1. wow. we are resonating today…yeah there are people i see that i feel i know…i probably got to the other extreme of letting too many in…

    Like

  2. ah yes, we are born and die alone. What happens in between………..

    Like

  3. Nice rhythm to this one 🙂 Never trust anyone I say – haha – well maybe that’s a bit harsh, but I concur with your sentiment Adeeyoyo.

    Like

  4. Beautifully stated.

    “Afraid to expose my limitations, my flaws,
    Lest these strangers be not worthy of my trust.”

    Like

  5. Hi Adee…that is a bit sad…one has to let people in…sometimes it doesn’t work but when it does there is nothing like a good friend.

    Like

  6. Ah, well spoken… I find myself becoming more open as I get older. I think you’re right, we can never truly know another. For that matter, how many of us can say we truly know ourselves? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

