Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Silent Night

18 Comments

Starry Night Sky Pictures, Images and Photos

Silent Night

Night dropped down
Gently from the sky,
Covering the town
In a blanket of darkness.

All was still,
Peaceful and quiet,
Then the sound rang out
Of a newborn’s cry.

Softly quietened,
Comforted to sleep,
Till the sky lightened
With the dawn of day.

The Baby, born to set us free,
Who would have thought
That He could be
The centre of such controversy.

Image: Photobucket.com
©DGA 24.03.2011 15:34

A new commandment I bring unto you,
that you love one another as I have loved you,
that you love one another as I have loved you.
By this shall all men know that you are My disciples,
if you love one another as I have loved you.
By this shall all men know that you are My disciples,
if you love one another as I have loved you.

Source (Biblical Reference):
John 13: 34, 35

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

18 thoughts on “Silent Night

  1. Yes, who would have thought? And that religion would turn to be the cause of so many wars?
    Have a good weekend, my friend.

    Like

  2. Love this adee! Hugs and have an awesome weekend xx

    Like

  3. oh any time someone comes along that changes or challenges the world there will be controvery…smiles. nicely spun

    Like

  4. Loved this one Adee – great take on Sidey’s challenge! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

    Like

  5. Beautiful poem and pic.

    I’m not convinced that “HE” has caused the controversy. Instead, some of his followers have LOST the message he came to impart . . . peace on earth, goodwill toward man.

    Like

    • You’re right, Nancy. I meant to change ’cause’ to ‘centre’, but forgot. I’ve been too busy watching the cricket (ICC). Thanks for pointing it out. 🙂

      Like

  6. How fitting to read this after the first official day of spring that is filled with snow for us here, just like the winter we should have left behind by now. Thanks for making sure that it’s not always winter and never Christmas in the tiny corner of the world from which I read your lovely poem.

    Like

  7. I am in the great white (emphasis on cold, white, snowy)north- Canada.

    Like

    • Thanks for the reply. 🙂 I believe it is extremely cold – well, compared to South Africa. I have an old school friend who lives just outside Vancouver, on a farm in the most idyllic valley complete with snow on the mountain (prob. winter) and a lovely river and lake. Those temperatures seem to be much on a par with London, maybe a little colder.

      Like

  8. So true – always amazes me that so called religious people are fighting over religion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

