Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

This Shadow of Life

30 Comments

scenery Pictures, Images and Photos

This Shadow of Life

Sometimes I fancy that this life
Is but a dream, an interlude,
For our eternal soul.
An experience perhaps
To enrich our inner selves,
To teach us certain values,
Agape, patience and charity
Before we re-awaken
In our heavenly home.

Image: Jsuswalks_photobucket.com
©DGA 27.05.2011 23:19

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

30 thoughts on “This Shadow of Life

  1. A lovely concept.

    Started a train of thought. Our original home, or our home-to-be? One journey, or a part of many?

    I’ve actually touched on these subjects in my latest fantsy.

    Like

  2. I tend to agree with your train of thought, Adee.

    We are here to experience, learn, grow, and . . . LOVE! Some lessons are easier than others.

    Like

  3. An interlude. Now that is possible. I think most of us have felt that there is some kind of pre birth attachment or prior essence before we became a couple of cells and grew. And giving up the ghost to that beyond in death. I still have not figured out to a satisfactory degree the purpose of evil people in this interlude. They are but contaminating filth. The minister that baptized my granddaughter said that from the beginning of time she(and all people) was an idea in the mind of God and became flesh and this rite is a celebration of the child’s entry. Perhaps for her interlude as you suggest. She was born Christmas Day, eight years ago.

    Like

    • I feel strongly that we existed with God before our birth into this life and that we will return again. There is much, however, that is beyond our comprehension…

      Like

  4. Yes, there is much that is beyond our comprehension but all will be revealed when He thinks we are ready.

    Like

  5. You make a fine point, adee.

    Like

  6. you are sometimes very ‘other worldly’, i wonder what you can see

    Like

  7. wont that be the day when we wake up in heaven…

    Like

  8. “Sometimes I fancy” you’re right, Adee… 🙂

    Like

  9. It certainly refines and hones us, Adee ….lovely thought.

    Like

  10. You wrote that? Awesome!!

    Like

  11. “To teach us certain values” – it would make some sense that what we go through on this earth is not all for nought (I’m yet to be convinced)- lovely poem, Adee

    Like

  12. Ecellent poem.
    Packs a lot of power in those words

    Like

  13. I think that too. It’s the only way I can make sense of all the horrible things that happen in life – it just has to be a learning process, you know? Very profound concept. Beautifully written.

    Like

  14. Hi Adee…how I wish I was walking in those woods right now…all alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

