Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Evil’s Strength

22 Comments

eclipse Pictures, Images and Photos

Evil’s Strength

We live in an age of evil,

Of wasted lives and suffering,

Of devastation of our earth,

Caused by selfishness and greed.

Where evil appears more powerful than good,

More compelling than the ‘Gentle Jesus’ fraternity

Because they stoop fearlessly without limitations,

Without reins to hold them back.

Hell and damnation hold no inhibitions;

The present is all there is to them.

Gather together all who live in the light,

Inhabitants of the earth,

Citizens of the world,

Do not allow the sun to be devoured by the night.

Image: memotj_photobucket.com
©DGA 28 June 2011 09:59

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

22 thoughts on “Evil’s Strength

  1. both compelling and challenging message. love it. 🙂

    Like

  2. and “rage against the dying of the light.” Dylan Thomas

    Like

  3. My problem , Denise, is that there is some of that evil in all men. If anyone says he has no evil in him , he is lying.
    For me, the comfort is that I can ask for pardon, and make my best efforts to get rid of the bad stuff as I grow older.
    Look at the world. it dies every winter, and comes back to life every spring.
    So it is with good. However evil seems to be triumphing, good will forever survive.

    That is my sure hope.

    John

    Like

  4. Lots of people seem to think that we are about to turn the corner . . . from darkness to light. I hope they’re right.

    Unity and Love are the Heart of Creation.

    Thanks, Denise!

    Like

  5. there is a great bono quote, something like, ‘do you blame the dark for being dark or the light for not being bright enough.”

    Like

  6. I think you’ve shifted, adee, this may be your strongest poem yet.

    Like

  7. So few people can see the battle of light and dark for what it is, despite the rich plethora of metaphors there are out there for everyone to grasp. This is wonderful, Denise.

    Like

  8. “What has come into being in him was life, and the life was the light of all people. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.” John 1:3b-5

    Psalm 121

    Like

  9. Quite often one comes, indeed, to the feeling that the dice are loaded in favour of the evil and the selfish.

    Like

  10. Here, I agree to disagree with you, Adee – I don’t believe one needs religious faith to shun the darkness and choose the way of light – it is an age-old argument, I know 🙂

    Like

  11. I’m in the mindset of ‘What’s it all about, Alfie?’ at the moment too. I get what Bluebee is saying – we are seeking some form of enlightenment, a sort of shunning of the evil forces in society, if you like, and a religious approach often is ineffectual. However, I read your point about the Christian forces as almost being as damaging to the world as evil is because their faith makes them complacent. A case in point is that my sister has recently become a born-again Christian – she used to be a staunch environmentalist- but now all she talks about is how it doesn’t matter how evil the world is, everything will be sorted out on Judgement Day. To me, waiting for that to happen is just a bit too late. It means you are going to do nothing until that moment. It upsets me quite a lot that her faith is so blinding. Often, I don’t know what to make of it. Thank you for always making me consider the state of the world. It is important to talk about these things.

    Like

    • Thanks for your viewpoint, Selma. I’m with you. I know many Christians like that and I agree that they should stand up, not just rely on God to do it all for them. That is, to me, REALLY wrong (not to mention, the easy way out) – now WE must clean it up, Christian or not!

      Like

Leave a Reply

