Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Stranger in the Night

23 Comments

baby hand heart Pictures, Images and Photos

Stranger in the Night

A stranger in the night,
Moving in the shadows
And avoiding the light.
A pale moon shining
Just enough to see his way,
To put his mind at ease
Before the dawn of day.

“I’m not allowed to see you
Through no fault of my own,
But before I go away
I’ve come to let you know
You will never be alone,
I will always love you so.”

The small child smiles
As she opens her eyes,
“Dada came in the dark
And he kissed me goodbye,”

She points to a mark
Like a tiny little heart
In the palm of her hand.

Image: By picturegurl88_photobucket.com
©DGA 13 July 2011 11:20

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

23 thoughts on “Stranger in the Night

  1. Denise, that is so wonderful , poignant, and heart wrenching.

    your way with words in unbelievable…thank you from the bottom of my heart

    Like

  2. I am not getting notification of your post nor anyone else’s. Any suggestions?

    Like

  3. Hallo Denise.
    This made me think of Harry Bellafonte’s “Scarlet Ribbons.” song.

    Nice poem.

    John

    Like

  4. That was quiet lovely — ” a tiny little heart in the palm of her hand”

    Like

  5. Sweet poem. That child will remember and feel loved by her dada, unless (or until) she is made to feel there’s something wrong with a love that isn’t accompanied by a predictably constant physical presence, or reinforced by regular reassurance. It’s the human journey though, isn’t it? – learning that love is a heart presence…

    Like

  6. Beautiful words Denise.

    Like

  7. Sweet and sad, Adeeyoyo.

    How is your recuperation coming along?

    Like

  8. Yes it is sad, but very beautiful.

    Like

  9. oh, emotive for sure…a bit sad, a bit hope…smiles.

    Like

  10. Absolutely beautiful. Really weird for me that I found it comforting rather than sad. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

