Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Romance of Mist

24 Comments

The Romance of Mist

Tendrils of mist
Drifted slowly in the gentle breeze
Rising above the ground
So that the tall trees
Stood like headless ghosts
Painted in an ethereal frieze
And the silence enfolded us
In a quiet peace

©DGA 02 August 2011 03:44

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

24 thoughts on “The Romance of Mist

  1. Beautiful, yet a little eerie as well.

    Like

  2. It is wise to remember the peace that exists in silence. 😀

    Like

  3. that is beautiful

    Like

  4. Oh that is lovely, adee!

    Like

  5. “Tendrils of mist”… an excellent expression.

    This is really a romantic peace. Sincere congrats!

    Like

  6. Nice one Denise.
    It sounds like the October mists in East Yorkshire where I was raised.
    Only the extra sound of the fog horns from the river Humber was different.
    We could tell there was a fog before we got out of bed!
    Thanks, John

    Like

  7. I love this poem! It reminds me of one of my favorite songs written by Jimmy Webb, and sung by Rosemary Clooney (on the last album recorded before she died), called “Time Flies.” I’ll try to send the whole song to you via e-mail – I’ve been able to do it before, but lately not much success:

    FIrst verse:

    “Life begins, and spirits rise,
    And they become memories that vaporize,
    And the vapor becomes the dreams we devise,
    And while we are draming, time flies.”

    Like

  8. That is absolutely gorgeous. I love everything about it – the headless ghosts, the tendrils of mist. I can see the white plumes of mist. I can feel them. Outstanding!

    Like

  9. Love this beautiful poem, Adee

    Like

  10. I love early morning fog. I’ve tried to capture it in photography but couldn’t, nor could I capture it this well in words. Well done, you’ve put the image behind my eyes.

    Like

    • I love it too, Mark. I am now thinking of looking at photography blogs and using the pics for ideas when I run short. So far everything descriptive has been from memory or imagination so I haven’t illustrated my work. I would like to get a camera one of these days. I used to use my cellphone, which wasn’t too bad, for many of my earlier posts. Thank you for your kind comment and for liking my post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

