Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

On Top of the Hill

24 Comments

On Top of the Hill

once upon a time long, long ago
when i was young and immature
looking forward through the mists
i could not imagine getting old
when to me ‘over the hill’
was thirty-five by which time
i was sure my best years
would have been and gone

now that i am as old as the hills
or as old as methuselah
peering backward through the mists
it’s easy to remember being young
but i hope I’m wiser now and i know
the best years are still ahead
for me to explore at my leisure
as long as my brain remains sane

©DGA 19 August 2011 06:17

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

24 thoughts on “On Top of the Hill

  1. I know what you mean. I am very surprised how comfortable I am being called grandpa.

    Like

  2. Savor each step from here to the mists, Denise. You’re the sanest banana in the bunch. 😀

    Like

  3. so true, I’m not quite grandpa yet but feeling better now at 40 than I did at 20, I just have to catch myself from using ‘oldisms’ such as ‘kids these days…” and ‘when I was you age I…’

    Like

  4. “as long as my brain remains sane” is a very important line. We must enjoy life while we can 🙂

    Like

  5. so true. the future is always loaded with ‘scary’, but many have been there before us and shown us that there are ways to live a full life even with limitations

    Like

  6. Love this, Denise. Age brings so much with it.

    Like

  7. I’ll agree with that!
    The most important thing in the more mature years of your life is to stay healthy. Once that has gone , there is no turning back

    Like

    • I would say it quite like that Patrecia. Just don’t let things deteriorate too far. But, yes, health is very important, both mental and physical, my friend.

      Like

  8. Oh Amen to that, Denise – for you and me both!!!
    At 74, I reckon your poem suits me well!

    John

    Like

  9. This is fine Denise. But I feel it would make a great poem if you write it in th eprespective of the cloud.
    best regards

    Like

  10. Every age has its benefits

    Like

  11. Denise, when I was nine my ma had this oatmeal facial mask that hardened like cement and cracked like dry desert earth when it was ready to be washed off. I used to get into her cosmetics and put it on and then wait for it to turn me into the old lady I dreamed of being. Well, I’m there, and you know what? I LOVE IT! Being young was not my thing, I felt so uncomfortable in that ‘gotta compete and prove yourself skin’ this is better skin because it’s ‘I made it out alive and now I’ve got something to tell you.’ I loved this poem Denise and it is one of my new favourites that you’ve written. I’m gonna tweet it.

    Like

    • I think it’s very clumsy, not like I intended at all! I agree it is lovely to be a ‘certain age’ and not have to worry about what people will think etc. etc. They can take me or leave me, I don’t care!

      Like

Leave a Reply

