Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Party Dresses

26 Comments

Party Dresses

~~~

martie an’ me we was so axcited. our school was having a party on friday night for its tenth birthday. mit* rock ‘n roll musiek an’ als**.

my ma said she would sew our dresses. she had some lef’ overs from the curtains and she would buy a small piece of silver cloth she saw at yusuf’s shop.

the dresses was a secret and martie and me, we wasn’t s’posed to see. my ma sewed every chance she got.

well on friday after school martie’s ma came to our house to help martie and me get ready for the party. even the neighbours came to see how we looked. we was so proud.

my ma had made both dresses the same. she had cut out stars and bells out of the silver cloth an’ stuck them on the skirts. martie had the stars and i had the bells.

so martie was the star of the party an’ i was the bell of the ball!

~~~

*mit = with
**als, alles = all

©DGA 24 August 2011 10:53

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

26 thoughts on “Party Dresses

  1. When I write in this style which I label 17th Century southern USA, I purposely use long exaggerated run- on sentences because they seem to capture “non stop speak”. Use that style when writing stories of contemporary times as a child speaks with a waterfall of words. The type of talk with which Father would become frustrated and say “Shut up and tell me what happened.”

    Like

    • Hahaha, reminds me of a book I read (skimmed) recenty where the father said such nonsensical things, but you could see where he was coming from! This type of writing is a first for me and I am still trying to get into their head, so to speak…

      Like

    • Carl, I was trained as an engineer to say things fast and accurately.
      When my children got into “narrative mode” I would say just the same to them!
      John

      Like

    • The waterfall of words may well work for a number of such pictured situations, but I find this piece to be an authentic representation of many actual youthful monologues I have overheard in 20th/21st Century southern Africa.

      Like

  2. Loved this . . . especially the last line! 😀

    Like

  3. I’m liking this style, adee 🙂

    Like

  4. smiles. i like this little vinette and it sounds like they were some pretty magical dresses…

    Like

  5. hehe, youthful fun! the magic of getting something special for an event

    Like

  6. Denise, I loved this poem. I never wore a party dress (I’m thankful to say!) but know how my grand daughters feel when they have a new party dress.
    Lovely writing

    John

    Like

  7. This was a great read.
    The pictures just flowed across my mind as I read your words.
    Fantastic.

    Like

  8. That’s defintely the most efficient way to ensure bell and star status.

    Like

  9. Wow, a total transformation as you put on prose and a Southern style. Beautiful, artless, refreshing as a party drink, Denise 🙂

    Like

  10. I see an interesting narrative developing here, Adeeyoyo – perhaps the making of a novella

    Like

    • Thanks Bb. It was more difficult than it looks from a spelling point of view. I couldn’t spell every word phonetically, but I didn’t want to lose the heart of the way they expressed themselves either. I enjoyed the challenge though. 😀

      Like

  11. Wonderful job, Denice. Writing in dialect is so difficult. If you ever need any help, I speak fluent hillbilly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

