Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Howling Wind

24 Comments

~~~

I listened to the wind

Howling through the naked trees

And was transported in my mind

To the Alaskan wilderness

Inhabited by wolves

Whose howling

Harmonised in tune

With the wailing wind

And the waxing moon

Life-force of the earth

And spirit of our birth

~~~

©DGA 25 August 2011 12:27

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

24 thoughts on “The Howling Wind

  1. Wind transports me too!
    Figuratively, not literally

    I’ve yet to squash a witch like a bug
    After sailing from Kansas to Oz on the breeze

    Here’s hoping Irene’s bark is worse than her bite.

    Like

    • The wind in some of our seaside resorts is sometimes enough to bowl one over. When I was a teenager I remember it was quite scary to walk in some areas in town where the wind came up side streets leading from the sea at a rate of knots! 😦

      Like

  2. and a beautiful poem to-boot!

    thank you so much for those lovely descriptive words

    Like

  3. Real good poetry, Denise.
    I loved “the wailing wind and the waxing moon”, and the image of the howlling wolves.
    Thanks
    John.

    Like

  4. primal forces at work….to be attuned to it is a special thing…even if only glimpses at times…

    Like

  5. Thank goodness the wind has abated, for now…

    Like

  6. I love to listen to wind in trees – and here where I live, I love on the windiest of days to walk at the marina, where wind gusts set off a cacophonously beautiful (if such a pairing is possible) chorus of chimes and cymbal-like clashes in the masts of sailboats moored there.

    Like

  7. Just chuckling at the wind transporting Nancy 😀
    Here on the coast the wind is wild and wailing…

    Like

  8. I, too, like the wolf image from the wind – it often seems to connect that way.

    Like

  9. Excellent!!

    Like

  10. There is something preternatural about your imagery that emphasizes the almost ancient threat of the great winds that cross the earth. I particularly like how you were transported to the Alaskan wilderness – the starkness and openness of the landscape really fits the mood. Excellent!

    Like

  11. Thank you so much, Selma, for such a great compliment. 😀

    Like

  12. Thank you for a great post.

    Like

  13. Spine-tinglingly beautiful, Adeeyoyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

