Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Prison of Her Mind

23 Comments

 

The Prison of Her Mind

 ~~~

En wat is jou naam nou weer?

[And what is your name again?]

-a-b-c-d-e-f-g-

En wat is jou naam nou weer?

-1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-

En wat is jou naam nou weer?

-a-b-c-d-e-f-g-

En wat is jou naam nou weer?

Ken jy vir Japie, André of Theunis?

[Do you know Japie, André or Theunis?]

En wat is jou naam nou weer?

~~~

Arms flailing to keep her balance

Leaning, falling in slow motion

Head spinning, in rotation

Of never-ending circles in her mind

Will the nightmare never end

Is there any way to mend

Electric signals disconnected

Endless thoughts have separated

Flitting, floating through the air

Powerless to bind

To other atoms in her mind

~~~

©DGA 01 September 2011 06:28

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

23 thoughts on “The Prison of Her Mind

  1. This is so sad. I have an aunt whose mind has gone. It’s extremely sad,

    Like

  2. What an awful trap!

    Like

  3. When I read this I thought of a dream or a nightmare, Denise.
    But for it to be permanent is frightening.

    John

    Like

  4. you got me…i was like, this makes no sense…and then it made perfect sense…sad for sure…dementia scares the crap out of me…nice write…

    Like

  5. That is a sad poem Denise but for those with imprisoned minds it is just like that

    Like

  6. This is so lovely Denise. But for the supposed sanity, we still carry the same tags of name , relations and identities. May be because we speak or repeat them with such unfailing regularity and consistency, we are branded sane. This is a novel subject you touched. Maybe, few more can come out. Best of luck.

    Like

    • Thank you, Sunamu. I think most of us have our idiosyncrasies and weaknesses which we would not like disclosed to the world in case we are judged and branded, like the shame which used to accompany HIV diagnoses. The sooner these things are discussed openly, the better for everyone.

      Like

  7. You captured it ~ if my mind goes . . . I do NOT want to stick around.

    Like

    • “But I don’t want to go among mad people,” said Alice. “Oh, you can’t help that,” said the cat. “We’re all mad here.”

      I am not sure whether it is better to be unaware of what is happening to one’s mind, or not, Nancy. I don’t think one of us is perfectly sane – whatever that is… However, we must get rid of the stigma attached to mental disease.

      Like

  8. I, too, have a relation whom I miss desperately, and yet she is still here. Her anxiety is overwhelming.

    Like

    • Oh, yes, the anxiety… I have seen such inexplicable bouts of anxiety since I am here, and not only with those with dementia or Alzheimer’s disease, just the mere fact of aging seems to bring it on, even those with strong religious convictions and faith.

      Like

  9. I haven’t seen it in person, but it’s terribly, terribly sad. 😦

    Like

  10. My great aunt is suffering from dementia and she doesn’t recognise anyone in the family except for my cousin whom she insists is my grandmother (her sister.) It’s really difficult because my grandmother has been dead for ten years so the whole thing is quite upsetting. Your last two lines have struck a chord with me. The whole thing is just so sad.

    Like

    • It is really sad, Selma. I don’t think they know much about both dementia and Alzheimer’s because I have read such conflicting statements. They are very similar though. I just pray that they will find a cure or preventative measures soon. I don’t know whether there are more such cases, or whether people are speaking out more.

      Like

  11. Top form Denise. This is a devastating disease for the individual and their family, and as you say – powerless to stop it all.

    Like

  12. Yes, Shane, it does affect the whole family. Dreadful to watch…

    Like

Leave a Reply

