Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Floating

26 Comments

~~~

I’m floating in the sky

Between layers of cloud

Way up high

Weightless

Light as air

Without a care

Can’t come back

To earth

With a bump

Reality hits

With a thump

Aaah, no

Not now

Oww!

~~~

 

Poem inspired by: http://bythecanonviewfinder.blogspot.com/2011/09/in-clouds.html

©DGA 05 September 2011 06:41

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

26 thoughts on “Floating

  1. HAHA – Ouch, Denise.
    Just like coming back from holidays!
    John

    Like

  2. Here’s a good one for Monday morning….

    Like

    • One of the advantages of moving and becoming more independent is that I will be able to wake up at a ‘respectable’ time, Kate. No more 04h00 or 04h30! 😉

      Like

  3. I had a similar feeling when I subjected myself to the flowing river Godavari closing my eyes and standing afloat. It was as if I was floating in the cosmos. The ‘ouch’ part of course, was my knee which ached due to arthritis.
    Hope you would revert back to your own routine. Best of luck.

    Like

  4. Thank you Sunamu! When I meditate I have often floated face down in water with water lillies (lotus flowers) also floating in the water and had such a feeling of peace.

    Arthritis is the bane of my life, Sunamu. I had a knee replacement in November 2010 and then the break above the replacement occurred in April 2011. Now I am waiting for this to heal…

    Like

  5. Whyd’you spoil it?? I was enjoying that 🙂

    Like

  6. haha playfully done….if you are going to have a head in the clouds might want to keep a foot on the ground…smiles.

    Like

  7. Hi Adee…shades of Winnie the Pooh. 🙂

    Like

  8. Lovely poem! Good luck with the move.

    Like

  9. Will you be able to get your little canine friend (Fritz?) back, Adee?

    Like

  10. Will post something related to this in a day or so.

    Like

  11. I hope your move goes well and that you meet some nice people. I often dream of being up there, floating in the clouds. It would be totally blissful!

    Like

    • Oy, Selma, I’m at sixes and sevens at the moment. Taking the day off, haha – run out of space to put things and more boxes to unpack… Yes it would be wonderful to escape – absolute bliss!

      Like

  12. That reality can really sting. I’m loving your current series of poems; most relaxing, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

