Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Beauty

22 Comments

 ~

 There is beauty

In even the most

God forsaken

Desolation

Beauty in

The cold stark lines

Desert sands

Rocks exposed

Rainbow coloured

Layered bands

His mark is there

His name engraved

Etched in time

Emblazoned

In the sky

With every sunrise

Sunset

Giving the lie

He does not forsake

Abandon nor disown

His creations

His works of art

His magnum opus

~

©DGA Thursday, 22 September 2011 03:21

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

22 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. Beautiful, Denise. Loved:

    Beauty in
    The cold stark lines
    Desert sands
    Rocks exposed
    Rainbow coloured
    Layered bands

    Like

  2. Morning adee, up early too, eh?

    Like

  3. true that…there is beauty in everything…and no He does not forsake his creations…nice bit of truth in your write…

    Like

  4. Beauty truly is in the eyes of the beholder. I am also one who finds humor in almost everything, and that got me into some embarrassing moments though.
    Nice post.

    Like

  5. What a great poem, Denise. It reminds me of:-

    “In His hands are the depths of the earth
    The heights of the mountains are his
    To Him belongs the sea, for He made it
    and the dry land shaped by His hands”

    Thank you
    John

    Like

  6. Well written Denise, great words, with lots of meaning and truth.

    I also loved the lines that John added… We have much to praise Him for but there are times when we forget to look and to see.

    thank you for the reminders..to open our eyes and to absorb the beauty of creation

    Like

  7. Though the casual reader ( present company excluded) may not grasp the encompassing, infinite depth of this poem, Denise, I for one truly believe this YOUR “Magnum Opus” .. Thus Far of Course!!!

    Keep bringing it girl…

    God Bless You
    paul

    Like

  8. I woke up in the ‘very early hours’ and just had to get up and type this, Paul. Thank you for liking it, my friend. God bless you too.

    Like

  9. Beauty everywhere… I agree. And now this beautiful, well-expressed poem to add to the list, Denise.

    Like

  10. i like this very much.. i really appreciate the beauty in everything as well.. but what do you mean by “giving the lie” and then followed by “he does not forsake his creations etc.” this is very deep.. but what lie are you speaking of exactly here? the lie of existence, reality?

    Like

  11. Hi Bohemia, ‘giving the lie’ refers to ‘…God forsaken Desolation…’ which is a lie as ‘…He does not forsake his creations…’. Nice question, shows you read with understanding – great! Hope to see you again… 😀

    Like

  12. I can relate to this poem a lot. I live in an urban environment and often there is very little greenery around. In many parts of my area there are abandoned warehouses etc. which it can be dificult to find beauty in. I have trained myself to look for beauty everywhere – a little bird might fly by or there might be a beautiful glint of sunlight on a broken window. It is there if yu look…. the beauty. I really liked this, Denise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

