Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Father forgive us

24 Comments

~

Father forgive us

We are destroying, and have destroyed

Eco systems which make life possible on earth

We have taken your gifts for granted

With no thought for tomorrow

We have enjoyed the abundance

Of the fruits of the earth

With selfishness, lack of consideration

Lack of forethought

And made assumptions

That the earth would sustain us forever

Father God we humble ourselves before you

In deepest humility

We beg your forgiveness

Please instill in us the will

To repair that which we have broken

To renew that which we have used

Asking only that you inspire us with your wisdom

To put things right

~

©DGA 25 September 2011 04:57

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

24 thoughts on “Father forgive us

  1. Only after the last tree has been cut down.
    Only after the last river has been poisoned.
    Only after the last fish has been caught.
    Only then will you find that money cannot be eaten.

    Cree Indian Prophecy

    Like

  2. AMEN to that Denise. A great prayer, it is only when we acknowledge our guilt that God can help us.
    Very inspiring my friend.
    John

    Like

  3. i hope that he is listening and i wish this was the heart of the masses…we have gone well betond dominion to abuse of our planet….

    Like

  4. Brian, this was a cry from my heart in the early hours of this morning, but I’m afraid that Cindy’s quote may well become reality!

    Like

  5. There are two alternative translations of Lord’s Prayer. One is Aramaic and one in another language of the day. I don’t have link at the moment but you will find them most interesting.

    Like

  6. Thanks Carl, I’ll see what I can find and I’m sure they will be interesting – translation can make the world of difference to meaning. Btw, I added a song on Happy Feet especially for you… 😀

    Like

  7. Wonderful Words! Thank you

    I have given you the versatile Blogger Award, have you seen it?

    Like

  8. I love the poem, and Cindy’s comment. So true.

    Like

  9. Amen!!! Love this Prayem!!!
    I granted you the “Versatile Blogger Award”

    Have Fun
    paul

    Like

    • Thanks for liking my prayer. God bless you.

      I thought you were joking so I went to have a look-see. My goodness, about the last thing I need today… will have to get it done a dusted asap. Thanks Paul.

      Like

  10. Forgive us Father. We have acted with arrogance as if we were the only part of your creation that counts. We have failed to see we are the caretakers of your beautiful world and have spent our time plundering and destroying that which sustains us. Please forgive us for putting money and power before everything else. And please help those of us who are trying to, to put things right.
    Thank you, Denise. This has moved me a lot.

    Like

    • We are, without a doubt, the most selfish, arrogant, inconsiderate species… I felt as if this poem actually flowed out of my subconscious without any thought!

      Like

  11. Wow, what a beautiful prayer. I agree that we’re such a selfish people. It’s shameful.

    Like

  12. Pingback: PLAYING TAG « Adeeyoyo's Blog

  13. It boggles the mind how so many “intelligent” people can take the planet for granted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

