Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Memories, Mementoes & Mosbolletjies

20 Comments

Memories and mementoes

Taped up in boxes

Enclosed in cases

Tied up with string

Which to hold on to

And which to let go

Even the sweetest

Leaves a nasty trace

Leaves a bitter taste

No room for the sad

No place for the bad

Let me savour

But the purest flavour

Bake mosbolletjies*

For the future

~

*South Africa: a sweetish bun,
eaten fresh or dried as a rusk, often flavoured with aniseed

©DGA 10 October 2011 09:52

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

20 thoughts on “Memories, Mementoes & Mosbolletjies

  1. Oh Denise, what a lovely unpacking poem. I love it
    Thank you
    John

    Like

  2. As I read, I thought of my friend who is moving in with me and had to scale down as she packed … made me realize her anguish.

    Like

    • Maxi, your friend will be going through the same anguish I am experiencing, but you will be a good understanding friend to her I am quite sure. We just have to remember to treat others as we would like to be treated. God bless you.

      Like

  3. i will def take a sweet bun any day…smiles…though i have boxes full of memories…

    Like

  4. Beautiful poem, and thanks for the asterisk, I had no idea what a Mos…… was!! I wish you had given it to us phonetically as well.

    Like

  5. Letting go of the past frees up energy for the future. Best of luck wtih the process, Denise.

    Like

  6. Hey, Adee – good to see you back.

    Invite a friend to help get rid of the bad and the sad, and to share the mosbolletjies over a cup of tea 🙂

    Like

  7. I really like that idea of savouring only the purest flavour for the future. Moving is a really difficult process – it stirs up so many emotions, good and bad. I like the sense of optimism you present.

    Like

    • I’ve been feeling quite overwhelmed, Selma. But if I ‘knuckle down’ maybe I’ll be more-or-less straight in a week or so… if I could only wish the time away, haha!

      Like

  8. Couldn’t agree more adeeyoyo – that is one fantastic word ‘mosbolletjies’ 😉

    Like

  9. Why, after reading this did I have an unmistakable taste of cilantro in my throat…and threw down a delectable taco bar for dinner when I got home, from cooking Shrimp Fondue, and Quiche Loraine all night? Anyway…

    just wanted to thank you for your comment on my recent post, which, apparently someone, found the writer of to be an intriguer of his country… as at precisely 9 A.M. the following day, ( Yesterday morning )some program hop – scotched over my Max Security program, and shut my “Windows” , so I had no chance of reconfiguring the hard drive obliteration bug they sent me…

    Imagine that… seems it just doesn’t pay to chide the “Um Hum” department…as this is my 3rd new computer this year….But, after all my frustrations…imagine my elation’s… I’m back on line…only to find that this last post… was my 2nd most popular viewed … Ever!!! Bless You
    paul

    Like

    • I am at a loss for words, Paul. Is it that easy for anyone to send a virus to another computer? I see it can work out rather expensive to get on someone’s wrong side. Glad it’s sorted though and congratulations (mixed blessings) on your rating for that particular post! Bless you, my friend.

      Like

  10. This is a nice piece! You captured some truths here very well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

