Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Ripe Papaya

26 Comments

~

Orange sunburst, plump and ready

Anticipation can be heady

Honeyed nectar, sugar sweet

Far and away too good to eat

Feast for the eyes, the lips await

The mouth begins to salivate

Expectancy and expediency meet

Of one mind, action is complete

~

Β©DGA 16 October 2011 22:31

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

26 thoughts on “Ripe Papaya

  1. Sounds delish! Quite the dish! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. A delicious poem! I enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. mmmmmm… lovely! You’re making me hungry and just a moment ago I felt stuffed from a big dinner. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Yes, sounds refreshingly worth anticipating till morning… the closest thing I can think might excite me more,than anticipating the participation of a papaya (food wise anyway ) might be … to Tango with a Mango!!!
    God Bless You
    paul

    Like

    • Haha, that may be arranged… we have a SA band, who are still very popular and have been around for some years, called Mango Groove! I’m sure you’ll find them on YouTube. Bless you too, Paul.

      Like

  5. It is heavens’ way of seduction.

    Like

  6. Isn’t that true, Sunamu!

    Like

  7. Now you’ve got me wanting too!

    Like

  8. hello Fritz, nice to see your picture again, what a sweet boy you are

    Very good poem ..I don’t think that I have eaten papaya

    love to you

    Like

    • So, so sweet, Patrecia.

      I think you should treat yourself, Patrecia. It is delicious on its own or added to a fruit salad, i.e. with other fruit, typically sliced banana, orange segments and any other fruit you may have around, served with cream, icecream, custard, etc.

      Like

  9. oo i want one….i get a similar response to peaces as well…mmm….i will take fruit over chocolate any day…

    Like

  10. I’ve never had ripe papaya, Denise, but my mouth is watering already
    John

    Like

  11. Sumptuous and sensuous today, Denise. Lovely.

    Like

  12. Thank you, Kate. I find that ripe fruit really awakens the senses.

    Like

  13. Beautiful, luscious and juicy images. They shout PAPAYA!!!!. Perfect.

    Like

  14. I’m not a big fan of the Papaya (we call them Paw Paw in Aus) but your poem almosts make me want to eat one πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. We also call them pawpaw here. I have always liked them, but with all these new hybrids around I can say I love them now. They have more flavour I think.

    Like

  16. Yummo, Adeeyoyo πŸ™‚ And I love green papaya, mango and chilli salad

    Like

  17. Gee, that sounds delicious, Bb. New one to me and I will try it out soon…

    Like

Leave a Reply

