Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

A Different Heat

22 Comments

.

His fingers slipped in sweat

As he strived to contain the threat.

Drops ran down his brow

Restricting most of his view.

He paused to wipe his face

 And, consciously braced,

Separated the wires,

Checking them with care,

Swallowing his fear.

Then, eyes shut tight

Closing out the light,

He used his knife

And sliced.

.

©DGA 26 October 2011 19:49

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

22 thoughts on “A Different Heat

  1. Rather him than me…! 😉

    Like

  2. I , too, am perspiring, Denise.
    What a lot of tension in just a few lines.
    Great stuff!
    John

    Like

  3. Hope the bomb was a dud.

    Like

  4. Did it go Kaplooey?????????

    Like

  5. Nah, Gran, it went Kaploefff!!!!!

    Like

  6. Love this one Adee. Those wires could be the problems we face in life; sweat pours until they are resolved.

    Like

  7. Reminds me of those bomb disposal movies, where the hero snips the right wire as the seconds click to 4,3,2,,,,snip. And the movie continues…As the plot thickens. I hope there is more of this to come as well. Great, thanks D.
    Or the AC went out and he had to splice the wire to get it going again…Nah, I like the “bomb” thing.

    Like

  8. Holy moly. A moment when a steady hand is needed. Very well described. Very tense.

    Like

  9. Reminds me of the collar-bomb incident we had here this year – 10-hour wait for the victim and the police – very tense, indeed

    Like

    • Although I love this type of movie, Bb, it is absolutely horrific when it happens in real life! I hadn’t heard of the incident you mention, but it sounds really scary!

      Like

  10. wow…great intensity to this adee…

    Like

Leave a Reply

