Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Powers of Darkness

20 Comments

 . 

The powers of darkness hold no sway,

Try as they may.

I walk in the Light and sin has no place,

Can’t show its face,

It’s forever erased.

 .

I have no fear because You are here.

You walk with me, keep me company,

And shield me from the storm.

There is no harm can touch me now.

I’m out of reach of the devil’s hold

And, truth be told, forever safe

And sheltered from the cold.

.

©DGA 02 November 2011 08:31

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

20 thoughts on “The Powers of Darkness

  1. Absolutely beautiful Denise.
    And so reassuring, too. I have never managed to stay free of sin, but I can always say Sorry, and I know I am forgiven.
    I loved this.
    John

    Like

    • Thank you, John. There is nothing that measures up to the love of God. He knows what is in our hearts and I think sin is a part of being human, be it just a passing thought…

      Like

  2. It’s the best comfort in the world!

    Like

  3. Amen to that Denise… love p

    Like

  4. nice truth in this…and the comfort we find for the journey knowing he is there…

    Like

  5. I’m sorry, my previous comment seems to be somewhat irrelevant to this post..I got a different version in my e-mail, so please transfer my comment to that post. Danke.
    Jake.

    Like

    • Eeew, Jack. I’m sorry I trashed the earlier version – it was too clumsy! Instead I used it as a foundation for this one which I much prefer. Anyway, thanks for the visit!

      Like

  6. …out of reach of the devil’s hold; never thought much about this, yet it’s true if we stay close to God.

    Like

  7. Good that you find comfort in your faith, Adee

    Like

  8. They powers of darkness, like the wind trying to extinguish the candle light.

    Like

  9. Perhaps that is the beauty of light. However small the ray be, it can pierce through crystalline darkness.
    And it is not without reason, perhaps, Hope is likened to light. Cheers Denise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

