Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

New Beginnings

30 Comments

Piet-my-vrou (Red Chested Cuckoo)

.

New Beginnings

.

I awoke to a rain-washed day

With smells of new mown hay,

A clear crisp bite in the air:

The best time of the year.

.

Winter’s becoming a memory

While summer waits in the wings

With promises of pleasures sensory

Suspended till the Piet-my-vrou* sings.

 .

*Etymology

From Afrikaans piet-my-vrou, literally ‘Peter my wife’, supposed
representation of the bird’s call.

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/piet-my-vrou

Image: Red-chested
Cuckoo
Cuculus solitarius Piet-my-vrou

http://www.stellenboschwriters.com/jillsbirds.html

©DGA 6 November 2011 07:58

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

30 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Exact opposite weather here…but, then it always changes.
    Bless You
    paul

    Like

  2. Thank you Denise, lovely words and I do like your Cuckoo with the red chest

    Like

  3. “Promises of pleasures” is there in each new day if we have an open heart.

    Like

  4. It’s almost like athelets in their blocks at a 100 meter race, waiting for the gun to go off.

    Like

  5. Hi Adee…wish Cape Town would wake up and get the summer feeling.
    Mind you….today is lovely…am heading for the beach just now.

    Like

  6. Great Denise. Of course Spring is a season of great anticipation.
    I was not aware of that variety of cuckoo.
    Thanks for the vision of spring.

    John

    Like

  7. i agree each day being a new promise…nice capture adee…so much anticipation of new life in spring…

    Like

  8. Beautiful capture of the ebb and flow of seasons. 😀

    Like

  9. I remember days like that 🙂

    Like

  10. Love it, nice flow, nice sentiment, and jealousy invoking. “Peter my Wife”?

    Like

  11. This post holds a lot of promise and a totally different view of anticipation from your previous one. Love it! Interesting how people interpret bird-call, isn’t it? Where I grew up we had a meadowlark that spoke of coming rain (though not in English). 😉

    Like

  12. Spring feels warm with this blast from you today, Denise. Thank you. And, I love the bird.

    Like

  13. Wonderful!

    Like

  14. Have to remember seasons opposite northern hemisphere but the thoughts are above and not dependent upon season.

    Like

  15. The sounds, smells and sights of Africa – lovely, Adee – had to hop over and listen to the piet-my-vrou for a bit of nostalgia 🙂 Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

