Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Sounds of Music

18 Comments

.

one

single

gentle

pluck of the chord

and the sound

vibrates, resonates

stirring the air

shivering, quivering

in my ear

.

one

single

velvet

breath of Pan

and the sound

sooths, smooths

through ev’ry pore

calming, embalming

my core

.

one

single

tender

tap of the skin

and the sound

rebounds, resounds

lost and forlorn

a beat in the tempo

of time

.

©DGA 22 May 2012 10:30

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

18 thoughts on “Sounds of Music

  1. such beautiful calming words..well done Denise xxxxx

    Like

  2. WOW. Very skilled writing here, Adee. Love the rhythm and the cadence of it. It has such a great vibe to it!

    Like

  3. This is so lovely to read, adee. That last verse seems very wistfully sad.

    Like

  4. Is that Peter Pan ? He and I are buddies. We are determined not to grow up.

    Like

  5. Your words are music to my ears. Play on, play on.. Loved the format, captivating.

    Like

  6. I do love this, Denise. I played the guitar for many years, the violin for some more years, and sang lots over my life.
    John

    Like

  7. Lovely, Denise. I watched a movie tonight (ladies in lavender) starring judi dench and maggie smith. A violin played a featured role in the flick. Gorgeous notes and resonance.

    Like

  8. That husky voice vibrating through the body enbalms the angst of every pore. It is no more a sound… that tapering…wave purges with its magical touch the chronic enduring pulsating pains.

    Like

    • Oh yes, Murty, you have expressed it so well… beautiful! Music can sometimes be a wonderful escape from pain, short-term though. I think similar in a lot of ways to self-hypnosis! And practice would lengthen and possibly deepen the effect! Very interesting topic.

      Like

  9. You have tied those images together well to show how much they belong to one another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

