Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

An Ill Wind

10 Comments

.

It leaves the mountains covered in snow

And dumps its rain beside the hills,

Filling near-empty dams but

Causing flooding in the dells.

.

This wind echoes the sound of the sea

A thousand miles in its wake,

But the land in the east is dry as a bone

And there’s naught its thirst to slake.

.

Warm and snug in bed I lie,

Thinking of those who, unlike I,

Huddle under the cold black sky

And I wonder, ‘Why?’

.

© Denise G Allen 15 July 2012 06:07

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people! I am back after a break. Thanks for still being here, if you are! Missed you! xxx

10 thoughts on “An Ill Wind

  1. This describes our weather so well, Adee. I also think of those left out in the cold 😦
    *hugs*

    Like

  2. Very thoughtful poem, adee. I often think of those homeless folk when I’m warm and snug in bed. Blanket donations are always welcome.

    Like

  3. I have also been sitting here, listening to the rain, and wondering about the folk in shacks.

    Like

  4. Such an interesting progression of ideas, Denise. And I love where it leads.
    John

    Like

  5. what does slake mean?

    Like

  6. I found it now…I never knew that

    Like

  7. We could use a “little” of that rain here..But such is our “lot” at this time..

    Like

  8. Thunder storm here right as I am reading.

    Like

  9. I’ve just moved, and it’s very dry here. Wondering ‘why’ myself.

    Like

  10. I wonder why too, Adee – we have a magazine here called ‘The Big Issue’ sold on the city streets by people who are or have been homeless – each issue has a vendor profile and it’s interesting to read their stories and to see all the different causes of homelessness. I guess out-and-out poverty, and possibly the AIDS epidemic, are a few of the main contirbutors in SA

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.