Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

A Mother’s Prayer

14 Comments

.

Favoured son throughout his youth,

She tried the best she knew in truth,

But he drifted aside from the narrow way,

Lost in the choices of that day.

Now, deaf to all his mother’s pleas,

He can‘t resist the pull of dis-ease,

He‘s drawn along by a magnetic force;

She cannot change the path of his course.

He’s about to self-destruct

As deeper into the mire he’s sucked!

Oh, Father God, in Jesus name

Help the mother to save her son

Fill them with faith and Your unending love

And send them Your strength from heav’n above.

.

© Denise G Allen, 17 July 2012 08:44

See related post.

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “A Mother’s Prayer

  1. oh Denise that is so poignant..I do hope that this is not personal!!!

    Like

  2. Oh Denise, how many parents have been there. For the lucky ones the problems are about learning to live life. For the unlucky ones the problems are about children misusing life. Such a heart rent poem, Denise
    Thank you
    JOHN

    Like

  3. I feel so sad for this poor mother and her son.

    Like

  4. I know many a mother who have prayed exactly like that Denise. You captured their desperation perfectly.

    Like

  5. poem “Nancy Hanks,” usually attributed to Rosemary Benet

    You will like this poem. It is written as though Abraham Lincoln’s mother was speaking the words.

    Like

  6. Oh Denise, I pray that your friend’s pain will ease in time … and that her son will come to terms with his demons.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  7. So well-expressed. Sadly, many many mothers find themselves in such a position.

    Like

  8. Oh my, so sad. Hi Adee, its been a while.

    Like

  9. Oh dear…been there and done that.

    Like

  10. Upon second read I note my children in same milieu and pray our Lord will provide the light in which they may walk. Have you been posting lately? Not getting notifications.

    Like

    • I too wish that, Carl. I haven’t posted for some time. I am finding it difficult to write of late. Lack of inspiration and time constraints. I hope to get back into the head-space soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

