Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Outer Space

22 Comments

 .

In the blackest black

There’s a speck of light

The smallest dot

Or prick of white

.

Day dusts the dawn

With a rosy hue

But from outer space

The earth looks blue

.

How trifling we seem

In the scheme of things

Our egos are all

But we are too small –

Important only in our heads

As we lie musing in our beds

.

©Denise G Allen 27 July 2012 08:38

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

22 thoughts on “Outer Space

  1. If we realize that even our planet is but a grain of sand in relationship to the vastness of the universe perhaps our individual grandiosity will be taken down a notch.

    Like

  2. In the big scheme of things, we are as significant as an ant or a grain of sand, but we all have an important role to play here. Lovely writing, adee. 😉

    Like

  3. So very true! Lovely post.

    Like

  4. There is no better or safer place to muse than in our beds..Actually I’m always hoping to find a muse in my bed..lol

    Like

  5. Hi Jack (lol), I’m sure you get amuse quite often in and out of bed!

    Like

  6. You touched one of my strains, Denise. The vastness of space and time.
    And the greatness of its creator.
    Thank you
    John

    Like

  7. Important only in our heads; something to ponder
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  8. “From outer space Earth looks blue” …and if not for the indwelling holy spirit of our creator…it would look that way from my bed too…
    Bless
    You

    Like

  9. it is pretty amazing when you look at it on the grand scale…just how small we are yet big as well…smiles…

    Like

  10. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

    Like

    • Wow, that’s wonderful, Hook. I will certainly download it and give you feedback. I Look forward to reading it and I’m sure you will get rave reviews!

      Like

  11. Truly thoughts that I feel! This is a great poem…the simplicity allows clarity and puts our lives in perspective. This is definitely one of my favorites from you Denise. Excellent work. Peace be with you

    Like

  12. Important only in our heads lol true that

    Like

Leave a Reply

