Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Bird Watching

18 Comments

Cat

Cat

Bird Watching

A sound, a movement
In the early morning light
He entered the room
And his eyes met mine
As with a ‘prrt-prrt’
(‘Hello’ in cattish) he greeted me,
‘Good morning, Cat’, said I.
‘It’s too early for breakfast time.’
‘Mma’ he replied as he stretched out
Full length on the floor
It was only then I saw the little bird –
Another present, but this was alive!
How weird, so bizarre,
What a surprise, this little guy
Sitting quite still, and calmly
Watching us, both Cat and I.

Photograph: ©Denise G Allen

©Denise G Allen, 23 December 2012 04:30

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

18 thoughts on “Bird Watching

  1. An unexpected twist, pleasant though, in the last few lines.

    Hearty Greetings for a Merry Christmas Denise.

    Like

    • It was really a magical few minutes, SuNaMu, The bird and the cat were totally at ease/peace with each other while I fetched my front door key before taking the little bird outside and placing him under the yesterday-today-tomorrow tree and he hop-hopped into the undergrowth.

      Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas.

      Like

  2. What a magical moment, beautifully expressed!

    Like

    • Wouldn’t it be wonderful if our world was like that…

      Like

      • So glad the bird was still alive. Hope all is well in your world, Denise.
        Blessings ~ Maxi

        Like

        • He carried the little bird so gently it’s hard to believe and made no move to harm it. Yet I have seen him make a mock charge at Hadidas, almost as though he has a sense of humour. Pigeons, of which there are many, don’t warrant a second glance. Really odd… Bless you, Maxi.

          Like

  3. I am definitely not a cat guy but this one is beautiful as is your poem. We forget that we are watched as well . Cinnamon/white mix with light green eyes – beautiful cat.

    Like

  4. ha def a gift…and one happy yo be on the other side of the glass from the cat as well…smiles…my younger cat snuggled in with us last night, i think he misses his sister….

    Like

  5. Gonna guess he did not want to be seen :).

    Like

  6. Denise. This cat is a beautiful one. I held my breath for the little bird until I read your response telling how the little bird hopped away into the undergrowth. I do hope he could fly too.
    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

