Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Waiting…

12 Comments

.

The world is waiting for what comes next;

Even the howling wind holds its breath.

The clouds are black across the sky

And I, with my eyes on the sea below

Watch it boil and recoil as the monster beneath

Twists and turns to escape the grip of the tide

Sucking, pulling, drawing him under,

While the men on deck look on as the sea

Plays its role in helping the whale to flee.

.

©Denise G Allen, 29 December 2012 09:08

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

12 thoughts on “Waiting…

  1. Your poem is similar to the thoughts I’ve been having too, adee.
    *hugs*

    Like

  2. ha i like how the ocean works against the monster, but for the whale…perhaps she knows her own….even the wind knows…it will be here soon enough…

    Like

  3. Love it!!

    Like

  4. A whale of a tail!
    I hope you had a lovely Christmas, and wish you all the very best for the New Year.

    Like

  5. How lucky you are to be watching the sea,
    as the falling snow is all I see..
    Though still better that, than sleet and hail,
    but, I’d much prefer to watch your whale.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR DENISE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

