Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Rear View Mirror

14 Comments

.

blinded by love
no
hormones led me
up the garden path
to see through sightless eyes
visionary-wise
but now
my rear view mirror
shows me the horror
makes it clear
what wasn’t there
naïve trusting without guile
believing
when all the while
hatred in disguise
masqueraded as love
in my fool’s paradise

.

©Denise G Allen, 23 January 2013 09:35

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Rear View Mirror

  1. oy looking back it is easier to see than when we are in that moment…and hopefully in that looking back we can learn a bit as well….smiles.

    Like

  2. I think that we should try to learn from all life’s challenges. Maybe that’s the whole point. 🙂

    Like

  3. No bed of roses up that garden path!

    Like

  4. How true this is, adee.

    Like

  5. It is always a short trip to “Fools Paradise”. While the return trip to “Realityville” usually takes a lot longer.. Welcome back Denise.

    Like

  6. Exasperating trip up the garden path and then down the other side.

    Like

  7. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, adee, but we aren’t blessed with it when we most need it. 🙂

    Like

  8. That’s a good simile Denise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

