Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Sleepless

18 Comments

.

Tossing and turning most of the night

First on the left side then on the right

Gripped by cramps that would not let go

Magnesium tablets are all that will do

To ease muscles in spasm contracting at will

Leaving me helpless and out of control

.

©Denise G Allen, 20 February 2013 05:35

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

18 thoughts on “Sleepless

  1. oh dang…now that doesnt sound like a lot of fun…i take it they will pass? or is this chronic

    Like

  2. No fun at all, Brian. It’s been plaguing me for 3-4 years on and off. Had scans Mon. Not good. Seeing doc prob nxt wk. But google tells me new meds ‘may cause cramps’ – what a joke!

    Like

  3. Oh Denise! I hate getting a cramp in bed. I get them in my legs, and have to get up – how about 4-30 or 5 am. My thoughts are with you.
    John

    Like

    • Always below the knees, but I can’t get rid of them until I take slow mag tabs. Walking doesn’t help ‘cos I think they’re gone and they zap me again as soon as I relax. Nice to know I have company, lol! Sorry… that sounds so unfeeling, but you know what I mean. I think I will try taking 2 tabs every day and see if they stay away. Will check but I don’t think one can o/d.

      Like

  4. Hope you’re feeling better, adee 🙂

    Like

  5. Ow! Muscles in spasm can be excruciating. I have woken up to cramp in a foot or feet after more than usual exercise. Walking it off (hobbling it off) does help me, though.

    Like

  6. I used to try walking, but it usually came back again. Maybe I should have walked for a longer time… I was wondering whether I have enough salt in my diet and if that could cause the cramps. Will remember to ask the doc when I see him.

    Like

  7. You have my sympathy, Denise. My David suffered for years with leg cramps. They were so severe he couldn’t move, could barely breath. I would get up and turn on the light, rub his calves.

    Pray this goes away. blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • It is terrible, Maxi, but the SLOW RELEASE magnesium tablets work very well in just a few minutes. Mind you, I take 3 or 4 at a time. I think they are harmless, but should google to check. Also it doesn’t happen every night – thank goodness. Bless you too, Maxi, for sharing.

      Like

  8. A cuppla toddys will bring on the noddies. Works for me..

    Like

  9. : (. Sorry to hear it.

    Like

  10. Oh my goodness. Its too bad you can’t do something to prevent them from coming at all.

    Like

  11. Goodness! I hope you find some good remedy in alternative medicine. It was hell for me until March 2012 with similar problems. I am happy thereafter taking a decoction of tree bark twice daily for only 2 months with no other restrictions of any kind. ( and side effects too.) Wish you explore some such available in your place. Wish you all the best, Denise.

    Like

  12. I will see when I’m next able to visit a health store, SuNaMu. I also try to use natural remedies where I can. Thanks for your concern and advice my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

