Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

LightHEADED

25 Comments

.

New meds

leave me LIGHTheaded

turn my head

and my brain lags

behind

back to bed

wake up a new (wo)man

no diff ‘tween meds

and drugs – one okay

the other not

like smoking pot

for pain

suffer say the buffs

you’ll get wasted

‘wasted…’ haha

what am i now

s-l-e-e-p

.

©Denise G Allen, 02 March 2013 07:51

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

25 thoughts on “LightHEADED

  1. I hate meds and I am not a fan of drugs either. A new woman? All I can think is plastic surgery :)?

    Like

    • I hate them too, Amy, and believe it or not have never tried drugs. Another thing, I don’t want an expressionless, plastic-looking face, haha. 😀

      Like

  2. Ha! What impresses is how you maintain your wit in spite of the cure 😀

    Like

  3. We are on the same page, Denise. I hate drugs but have to take them. It’s the fatigue that I dislike most.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • Where we go from being fit and well, Maxi… I hate drugs of any sort, legit or not. I like to be in control, but sometimes, as you know, it can’t be helped. This was written mainly for those who suffer when illegal drugs could help – after all drugs are drugs are drugs… and all have side effects or are habit-forming.

      Like

  4. I hate side effects too. Sending positive energy for your speedy recovery Denise.

    Like

  5. That’s the problem, Jeannie, there always are. Thanks so much for your good vibes! ♥

    Like

  6. have seen kids that are over medicated and its not fun…there comes a point it is about escape not just from the pain but from existence….

    Like

  7. The only difference between illegal and legal drugs is the profit being made by the drug manufacturers. Pot and most other “illicit” drugs come from a natural source, while the products that they are putting out, are man-made chemicals, that do not require the labor-intensive process of growing, processing and transporting the product. In other words the profit margin is greater and they are legitimized under the guise of “medicine” prescribed by your “healthcare professional.” I could go on and on about Ritalin, Prozac and any number of other so-called remedies that are being “pushed” on society by the legitimate “dealers” without the intensive testing, on the side-effects that their “cures” have on the people that are prescribed them…

    Like

    • What is it with people so intent on making money at any cost… You sound as if you’ve had some bad experiences, Jake. The pharmaceuticals make such promises. I have been researching osteoporosis medications on the internet and they promise the earth. However, when I read a certain blog where patients write their queries and give their scan results I don’t believe any of the drugs work. It seems that the best they can do is maintain the status quo. Thanks for your input.

      Like

  8. its nice post…sleeping and waking ..

    Like

  9. Aha! Caught writing under the influence of substances! 🙂

    Like

  10. I too have to have a drug or two every day of my life. They are to keep my heart pounding properly. I would be scared NOT to take them, Denise.
    No Pot, though!!!!
    John

    Like

  11. It’s not easy finding the balance between relieving pain and forfeiting something of oneself, Adee. How is your leg?

    Like

    • I agree, BB. The leg has been just the same for the last year and a half so now, after seeing the results of my scan, I have changed meds. See my reply above to poemsandponderings. Thanks for asking. 🙂

      Like

  12. This poem made me smile. Sleep . . . good. 😀

    Like

  13. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am having difficulties with
    your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it.
    Is there anyone else having similar RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

    Like

    • Haven’t had any complaints… sorry, all I can say is try again. I have been having server probs on and off since the beginning of Sept. Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

