Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Tit for Tat

14 Comments

.

I feel the urge to write,

The words are buzzing round my brain –

What’s that? A fly,

Intruding on my train of thought.

Out, out damn fly…

Leave, I say, you ought

To be ashamed

To butt into my mind.

The words are gone,

Atrophied at their point of birth,

And you have won, or think you have…

SPLAT! Take that!

.

©Denise G Allen, 04 March 2013 13:42

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Tit for Tat

  1. O My Goodness. You murdered your inspiration.

    Like

  2. The words buzzed.
    The fly buzzed.
    Whe words got splatted.
    The fly got splatted.
    Altogther a well-rounded episode, I’d say!

    Like

  3. Ah, Muse to Amuse…
    The Fly probably wasn’t though…
    Wonderful Work as always
    Bless You
    paul

    Like

  4. ha…we both dealt with flies…smiles…oh those stray thoughts that buzz in and steal our beautiful unborn poems…

    Like

  5. This is hysterical, Denise. My laugh for the week. Great job!
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  6. Good shot Denise HA HA!
    John

    Like

    • Thanks, John. I had two of them in here yesterday and I swear they know what a danger to them a fly-swatter is, because when I picked it up they disappeared only to reappear the minute I put it down!

      Like

    • Ben, I thank you for taking the time to read my work. I really appreciate it. Yes, this poem was written tongue-in-cheek – I couldn’t resist…it just came out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

