Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Last Autumn Days

27 Comments

.

Winter arrived in a flash last night;
cold blue skies with clouds of white,
but the trees remain green with a hint of gold
tho’ ice in the air is FREEZing cold.

He came in a woollen hat and scarf,
a greatcoat covered his expansive girth
up to his neck and down to his boots
which trampled their frost on growing roots.

Too early, too early we cried out loud
the trees are standing tall and proud
and their autumn gowns are not yet set
they still have a time to get ready yet.

Give us a month to admire and enjoy
leaves changing colour before you destroy
their autumn shades of reds and golds,
riches to our eyes above precious stones.
.

©Denise G Allen, 05 April 2013 20:02

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

27 thoughts on “Last Autumn Days

  1. Brilliantly told.. the winter that arrived before the Autumn.. where we went from a sheet to sleep under.. to a blanket and duvet in one day… my early morning cigarette on the stoep had me considering that maybe it should be enjoyed in a relay race type scenario.. two drags and inside ..warm up again and then out for more… I do love your poetry, quite jealous that you can describe the very thoughts that I was having about our weather change.. and yet you do it in verse… wonderful…

    Like

    • Hahaha, BD, I love the idea of smoking in a relay race, lol! I could never have enjoyed a cigarette (in the days when I smoked) like that. I liked to sit and savour each slow inhalation!

      I think I can express things better in poetry. Prose, when I write it, is very stiff and stilted. School-marm-ish!

      Thank you for your really nice comments. 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh yes, far too sudden. You captrured it exactly

    Like

  3. Wonderfully written. I remember these same feelings when we lived in Johannesburg. Happy weekend to you, adee.

    Like

  4. The chill also arrived very suddenly at the coast. Today the warm duvet will be taken out of hibernation.

    Like

  5. A well crafted poem, in both content and form.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for that, Ben. I don’t know anything about form – what I learnt at school was soon forgotten as I didn’t think it would ever be useful, lol!

      Like

  6. ha. we cant get rid of our winter….and its already moving in over there…how sad too…autumn is my fav season…for it to be skipped would be so sad to me….we got 5 inches of snow on thursday…and it was 68 on friday…crazy

    Like

    • The weather is quite upside down lately, I think in most places that I hear about. Quite worrying really. I too love autumn most. I wonder, are they still mocking Al Gore?

      Like

  7. Beautifully said Adee.

    Like

  8. Winter always comes much too soon. Ours is just ending here. Finally!

    Like

  9. And we always think it’s unexpected, Jeannie, lol! You’d think we would have learnt by now.

    Like

  10. Old man winter arrives swift and sprite,
    seemingly through, just one passing night.
    But summer’s maiden delays
    her arrival for days,
    And I’m sure they’re both done
    out of spite!

    Like

  11. A beautifully rendered lamentation, Adee – those autumn colours must not be bypassed!

    Like

  12. There autumn be a law against winter arriving early! 🙂

    Like

  13. You’re so right, Col. I have been waiting for Autumn and I’ll be really disappointed if I miss it.

    Like

  14. Perfectly put, Denise. It’s a shame when WINTER steps out of line and cuts in front of AUTUMN.

    Like

  15. I think it is in the process of righting itself, Nancy. The days are beautiful and sunny and the early mornings and evenings have a definite chill. Leaves are beginning to turn, but not falling yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

