Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Second Hand Life

16 Comments

.

We are lucky to live in the here and now

More than one life it is possible to lead

Always supposing we have learned how to read

Books galore – whatever your fancy

Other worlds, other words

Romance, adventure, true life and fiction

In all the tongues of the world

Recordings will suffice with clear diction

Or projection of pictures, both moving and still

One can also discover (uncover) a skill

Life imitating art mimicking life…

But remember life is for living

We are starring in it –

So don’t waste a minute…

.

©Denise G Allen, 24 April 2013 05:51

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

16 thoughts on “Second Hand Life

  1. Awesome post. We’re living in the here and now

    Like

  2. You tell about life in a such a real way, Denise … kudos
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. And don’t waste a minute worrying about wasting one either. 😉

    Like

  4. nice warning…life is for living…and we def should not take that for granted as it is all over way too fast…

    Like

  5. So very true, adee. Seize the day. 🙂

    Like

  6. Here and Now seems the most important to me, Denise.
    But I, who am not a habitual reader nowadays, have just rediscovered Edgar Wallace, whose books I loved as a young man. So I too have been living vicariously for a day or two.
    Nice post Denise. Thank you
    John

    Like

    • You won’t believe it, John. I was given a Kindle and have downloaded many of the classics which I have never read. Also some of my favourites like Jane Eyre. And some new-to-me writers’ works. Now I don’t have enough time in my day. We are indeed lucky to be able to experience other lives without, hopefully, neglecting our own. I do miss actual books, but the ebooks are much easier to handle being as light as a feather and my reader has an adjustable backlight so I can read easily in bed. Thank you for commenting. 🙂

      Like

    • Have you been on to any of the Sanders series? I suppose they would NOT be regarded as PC, these days …

      Like

  7. True!
    Did you ever read any of the Richmal Crompton ‘William’ series? William’s sister lived in a fantasy world where she was the heroine in a movie, and she kept doing and saying everything while imagining the shots of her doing and saying them on the big screen.

    Like

    • We did have a Just William book or two floating around our house when I was a child, but I didn’t read them. I had a fancy when I was very young and was first introduced to the cinema, that perhaps we were being filmed unaware and that was how movies were made. Perhaps lots of children imagine that. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

