Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Cold Old Bones

19 Comments

Snow/Sleet in Jozi

Snow/Sleet in Jozi

Cold Old Bones

Winter crept, while we slept,

Into our homes and our cold old bones,

And joints with stiffly (f)rigid digits.

As we awoke the freezing air

Held us fast there in its grasp,

Held us tight with all its might,

We fight to breathe, we’d like to leave

For warmer climes, for heated homes

To ease the hurt of these cold old bones.

.

Image and poem: ©Denise G Allen, 19 May 2013 20:13

Photo taken with my cellphone a few years ago.

There is creative reading as well as creative writing.
— Ralph Waldo Emerson

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

19 thoughts on “Cold Old Bones

  1. I remember homes without heating until a fire was lit in our kitchen.
    The cold bones of frost flowers on the window pane.
    But I was very young then!
    Lovely poem, Denise.
    John

    Like

    • Actual fires were foreign to me until I moved gradually further and further away from the KwaZulu Natal coast (semi-tropical) and, even so, the climate up here in Johannesburg is only very cold for a few days here and there. In Natal some houses had fireplaces just as a decorative feature – i.e. no chimneys. Nowadays people probably use gas fires.

      Like

  2. it woule be nice to fly away to warmer places

    Like

  3. Warmer is better, and there are no bones about it.

    Like

  4. It is jolly cold at the moment. Hope you get some sunshine today, adee.

    Like

  5. Can’t imagine such weather. I’m a sissy, even though I live in Florida we still have a fireplace.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  6. whew…stay warm you know….we are finally out of it….but the world spinning around we’ll be there again soon…ha…enjoying spring a bit now…

    Like

  7. I well remember the cold Jo’burg winters. I certainly don’t miss them.

    Like

    • I didn’t mind them when I first arrived to live, but now, maybe because I’m older… Originally I found these winters not as severe as the Natal midlands.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Homepage

  9. Pingback: Denver Roofing Company

Leave a Reply

