Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Blink

25 Comments

.

Eyes closed, I lay on my back
In the warmth of the sun,
Gently undulating sea beneath,
Bathed in calmness and peace.

Starting upright, treading water,
I saw that I had drifted far out
Taken by the current and now
Gripped by the undertow.

Then, from the corner of my eye
A fin appeared, slicing the swells,
A heart-stopping moment as I knew
He would be first in the queue.

BUMP, BUmp, bump…

A dolphin knocked against my legs;
Instinctively I opened a pathway
And he swam between, rising up,
And upwards until I lay on his back.

He carried me to the ocean shelf
Where he stopped before the shallows
And watched ‘til I was safely aground
Then with a splash of his tail he was gone.

.

©Denise G Allen, 07 August 2013 14:55

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

25 thoughts on “Blink

  1. This is great, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Brilliant… for a minute there I thought you were about to become shark bait… but the good old dolphin came to the rescue…
    I witnessed at Southbroom a whale with it’s young right at the break water, where I believe if the mother had got closer she wouldn’t have been able to get out again, the youngster was in trouble and while we watched, a pod of dolphin arrived and hassled the youngster to the other side of the mother so that she could push him/her out to sea again… Linda and I plus a whole group of others, watched this for about an hour,… naturally the camera was at home…

    Like

    • Wow, you are lucky to have witnessed that, Bulldog. I have read similar stories about how they assist both humans and other sea-going animals as well as ships…

      Like

  3. Wonderful tale, adee. Is it a true story, or a daydream? 🙂

    Like

  4. sweetly metaphoric, Denise – gives me a warm feeling

    Like

  5. Fabulous, Denise. Nice twist there!

    Like

  6. ha. you realize in my case this is a true story…was out with my son and two fins came up…they turned out to be dolphins…but i was def scared….

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Second Joy of Spam. | Within The Sphere

  8. Feelgood poem of the day. Well done.

    Like

  9. A brilliant story, Denise. Thank you.
    You folk must be approaching spring now. Wh are passing high summer, so Autumn is not so far away.
    John

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment, John. Yes, spring is on the edge of the doorstep, but this has been such a mild winter. Most days are lovely, only the chill in the wind when it blows gives the game away. Most days are in the 20’s and only a couple of days a month are in the mid to high teens.

      Like

  10. I love the stories you tell in/with your poems, adee 🙂

    Like

  11. Did you accidentally entice us with this enthralling dolphin tale of yours, or was it done on “porpoise”? Sorry, sometimes I can’t help myself. Really, I can’t..lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

