Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

My Africa

5 Comments

.

The music breathes into my soul,
phantom fingers stroke the keys,
draw breath to blow the ‘bone,
wisps of smoke curl overhead
‘gainst the naked globe.

Far, far away atop a craggy hill
the lone, plaintive cry
of a pennywhistle fills the sky
and the mist rises and curls
t’wards the ascending sun.

Nineteen years and what has changed?
Promises unfulfilled ~
The world stands still…

.

©Denise G Allen, 27 August 2013 04:00

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

5 thoughts on “My Africa

  1. that last bit on promises unfulfilled and world standing still….sadly true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

