Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

A Few Greedy Men

15 Comments

.

Earth is shaped by the elements

With all that man requires:

Food for his body and beauty for his soul;

But power is what he most desires ~~

Untold wealth at the expense of health.

Earth’s delicately balanced symbioses

Lie on the paths of man’s DEstruction

Where every one will suffer

For lack of CONstruction.

Will FRACk be the last straw on the camel’s back?

.

©Denise G Allen, 03 September 2013 02:34

~~~~
By the way, I’m not at all happy with the title – any suggestions?

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

15 thoughts on “A Few Greedy Men

  1. Denise, perhaps you have been following the news from up this end about protesters against fracking. I have to admit that as an engineer I am not convinced by arguments from either side because of the complexity of the evidence, and because of a lot of subjective arguments.
    I wait, as yet.
    John

    Like

  2. smiles….like the CON in construction, def our greed gets in the way of the natural rhythm of things….

    Like

    • Yes, I feel more thought should be given to controversial procedures and the worst possible scenarios predicted beforehand. Money should not be the only criteria.

      Like

  3. Your post brought back a memory to me of something I wrote after the passing of my mother-in-law in 2009. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed yours Denise.

    An excerpt from “The Seed Of Avarice” by yours truly.

    Avarice will lead you down
    a darkening road
    and loneliness will be,
    your heavy load.
    For family and friendships,
    will erode.
    Give me, give me, give me,
    is it’s code.

    Like

  4. Using one of the dirtiest words in the vocabulary – much worse than the four-letter one with the same start!

    Like

  5. A critical declaration and appropriate question articulated strongly. Well done.

    Like

  6. Truth … well considered, well written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

