Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

The Storm

13 Comments

The Storm

The Storm

The Storm

.

Thor growls among dark clouds

And lightning strikes like a snake,

Aggressively defensive.

There is no sun, he’s still abed

Where he’s stayed past months

~ tho’ in my head.

Light has departed from my life ~

Sucked dry, I have naught left to give;

Hard to expel the taste

Of fear, of hate, of dread,

But You are here, at last I see the end,

The winds of change begin to blow,

The sun will once more rule the skies

And burn away the hurt and lies

And all that love and truth despise.

.

Image and poem: ©Denise G Allen, 13 September 2013 09:48

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

13 thoughts on “The Storm

  1. This comes across as written from bitter and recent experience.

    Like

  2. I felt the hand of the bard upon that quill. True and nicely woven, tho’ thy words be bitter-sweet. NICE WORK Denise!

    Like

  3. i hope that sun, that hope, once more rules the heart and the storm moves out…we all go through the storms, some worse than others as well….on and on we survive

    Like

    • Yes, Brian, that is true and I am sure it is good for us although it doesn’t seem to be at the time – but we do survive and the trick is not to let it change us for the worse.

      Like

  4. The sun will once more rule the skies – there’s hope there, as it should be – change is sure and sure.. and I gather it’s about time things changed for the better.
    Gorgeous pic to illustrate, Denise… and wishing you all the best. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

