Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Moving House

21 Comments

.

Packing, sorting, exhausting, draining

Boring, chore-ing, but sometimes inspiring,

Uncovering, discovering long-lost treasure,

Teaching me not to be a hoarder

Or a collector (as I like to think)!

Stones and shells in a container

Opened once in a while to caress their beauty

And be transported back in time…

A glance through the window at the world outside

Reminds me that it doesn’t stand still;

I have to relish the rush of life

And also enjoy the blush of life

Wallpapering my window in its rosy light.

.

©Denise G Allen, 20 September 2013 08:08

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

21 thoughts on “Moving House

  1. You have described perfectly how I’m feeling: overwhelmed!
    Yesterday I ended up going through some of my mom’s family scrapbooks and nothing else got done 😦

    Like

  2. You are putting wallpaper on the window?

    Like

  3. Sounds to me like too much work… but beware don’t put off to tomorrow what you can do today… lol

    Like

  4. Oh Denise! All the stuff one accumulates during a lifetime. Perhaps one day we shall downsize. I shudder at the thought.!
    John

    Like

  5. Your poem says it all. adee. Good luck with he packing up. When do you move?

    Like

  6. Will you be able to get your dog back to love with you, AD?

    Like

    • Unfortunately not, Bb. I will still be here in the retirement village – no longer under their Care Centre. but in a cottage for the able-bodied. He is happy where he is and I speak to my friend, Mary, from time to time. However, I have befriended a ‘stray’ cat who visits every night. I have posted his picture and he has been the subject of a couple of poems. Actually I’m not sure who befriended whom, lol!

      Like

  7. That should be “live” (sorry!)

    Like

  8. One man’s junk is indeed another man’s treasure..

    So treasure the stuff
    that you think may be junk
    even if purchased
    when you were quite drunk.
    It may have great value
    and that is no bunk
    for many the fortune
    have been found in a trunk.

    Sorry Denise.. lol

    Like

  9. Very good really enjoyable thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

