Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Whispering Voices

14 Comments

.

Whispering voices in the breeze,
Rustling leaves and weaving trees,
Hush, hush, we don’t want to wake
The softly slumbering rock-a-bye babe.

Tinkling glass chimes ripple the air,
Adding a lightness, a brightness
As soft as a prayer.
Let the little one sleep without a care.

.

©Denise G Allen, 21 September 2013 07:28

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “Whispering Voices

  1. I love it… wonderful…

    Like

  2. A delightfully light touch, utterly appropriate to the content.

    Like

  3. How beautifully gentle, Denise
    Thank you
    John

    Like

    • Thank you so much, John. How’s the book going? I hope well. 🙂

      Like

      • I got the first copy to look at. It needs a tweak or two, here and there, but I am pleased with it. 77 poems of mine, with little illustrations to accompany most of them.
        I’ll let you know when it is finalised and where it is published.
        It cost me £25 for a copy though. OUCH!
        John

        Like

        • That sounds wonderful! I hope you sell lots. Who did the illustrations? I think pics make the world of difference to the presentation. Good luck! The price is/was a bit steep, testing your belief in your product, eh?

          Like

  4. A lovely lullaby, adee. Should be sung I think. 🙂

    Like

  5. You have a baby on the scene?

    Like

  6. the second half of this makes me breathe easy…the tinkling chimes….like a little zen….hope you have been well adee…

    Like

    • This just arrived in my head in the early hours… Yes, very well thanks Brian. (Am now considered ‘almost’ able-bodied again). Life is a bit hectic at the moment but should be back to normal soon. Hope you, Tara and the boys are well too. Bless you all and a belated happy birthday to Tara.

      Like

Leave a Reply

