Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

My Friend

6 Comments

* Edited

.

It was clear as daylight
Right from the start
He needed a friend
As did I, heart to heart.
Tho’ his visits took place
In the silence of night.

Regular as clockwork
He would arrive,
Stay the night then depart
In the early morning light,
While birdsong crashed,
Clamouring to wake the dead.

.

©Denise G Allen, 15 October 2013 08:22

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

6 thoughts on “My Friend

  1. A real beauty… but who was the visitor??

    Like

  2. A noisy feeder dish?
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. Aah. Memories, memories …

    Like

  4. nice…i like the crash of bird song….and find him interesting in his regularity in his visits….begs me to know more…

    Like

  5. Denise, a beautiful, light and deeply heartfelt poem. Gorgeous! Thank you!

    Like

  6. A thoughtful, beautiful poem. Thank you Denise

    Like

Leave a Reply

